Based on a 2010 novel of the same name, Who Fears Death takes place in a post-apocalyptic future Africa, riven by genocidal tribal conflict between the light-skinned Nuru and dark-skinned Okeke. The protagonist Onyesonwu was born of an interracial rape. As she grows older, she realizes she has magical powers — and even more importantly, that someone else with powerful magic is trying to kill her.

The project is now in early development stage.

Who Fears Death - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: In Development

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: None

Who Fears Death - Who Fears Death - Netflix

Who Fears Death is a science fantasy novel by Nigerian-American writer Nnedi Okorafor, published in 2010 by DAW, an imprint of Penguin Books. It was awarded the 2011 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, as well as the 2010 Carl Brandon Kindred Award “for an outstanding work of speculative fiction dealing with race and ethnicity.” Okorafor wrote a prequel, the novel The Book of Phoenix, published by DAW in 2015. In July 2017, Okorafor announced the novel was the basis for an HBO television series in “early development”, with George R. R. Martin serving as an executive producer; Selwyn Seyfu Hinds has been selected as scriptwriter.

Who Fears Death - Themes and influences - Netflix

The novel was inspired in part by Emily Wax's 2004 Washington Post article “We Want to Make a Light Baby,” which discussed the use of weaponized rape by Arab militiamen against Black African women in the Darfur conflict. According to Wax: “The victims and others said the rapes seemed to be a systematic campaign to humiliate the women, their husbands and fathers, and to weaken tribal ethnic lines.” Okorafor wrote that this article “created the passageway through which Onyesonwu slipped through my world.” The novel contains several references to Amos Tutuola's novel The Palm-Wine Drinkard.

Who Fears Death - References - Netflix