"The Ruth Rendell Mysteries" was a British crime series that aired on ITV between 1987 and 2000.

The Ruth Rendell Mysteries - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 1987-08-02

The Ruth Rendell Mysteries - Inspector Wexford - Netflix

Chief Inspector Reginald “Reg” Wexford is a recurring character in a series of detective novels by English crime writer Ruth Rendell. He made his first appearance in the author's 1964 debut From Doon With Death, and has since been the protagonist of 23 more novels (plus some short stories). In The Ruth Rendell Mysteries he was played by George Baker. In a 2013 interview, Rendell stated:

Wexford is a Liberal Democrat though, and I am a Labour party member, in fact a Labour peer, so I am further to the left than him.

Wexford is an intelligent, sensitive man. He has a placid wife, Dora, and two daughters, Sheila and Sylvia. He has a good relationship with Sheila (his favourite) but a difficult relationship with Sylvia (who feels slighted though he has never actually intended to slight her). He also has a strong friendship with DI Mike Burden.

The Ruth Rendell Mysteries - Novels - Netflix

From Doon with Death (1964) A New Lease of Death (1967) (known as Sins of the fathers in the US) Wolf to the Slaughter (1968) The Best Man to Die (1969) A Guilty Thing Surprised (1970) No More Dying Then (1971) Murder Being Done Once (1972) (known as Murder being once done in the US) Some Lie And Some Die (1973) Shake Hands Forever (1975) A Sleeping Life (1978) Put on By Cunning (1981) (known as Death notes in the US) The Speaker of Mandarin (1983) An Unkindness of Ravens (1985) The Veiled One (1988) Kissing the Gunner's Daughter (1992) Simisola (1994) Road Rage (1997) Harm Done (1999) The Babes in the Wood (2002) End in Tears (2005) Not in the Flesh (2007) The Monster in the Box (2009) The Vault (2011) No Man's Nightingale (2013)

The Ruth Rendell Mysteries - References - Netflix