Clive Anderson takes us through the evolution of a TV genre through the things that can, will and do go wrong. Programme-makers and presenters point out all the potential pitfalls.

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2009-08-06

The Funny Side of... - The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin - Netflix

The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin is a series of novels written by David Nobbs. He also adapted them for a British sitcom starring Leonard Rossiter in the title role. It was produced from 1976 to 1979. He adapted the screenplay for the first series from the novel. Some of its subplots were considered too dark or risqué for television and were toned down or omitted. The story concerns a middle-aged middle manager, Reginald “Reggie” Perrin, who reveals himself in the first series to be aged 46, who is driven to bizarre behaviour by the pointlessness of his job at Sunshine Desserts. The sitcom proved to be a subversion of others of the era, which were often based on bland middle-class suburban family life. The first novel in the series, The Death of Reginald Perrin, was published in 1975. Later editions were retitled to match the title of the television series. Subsequent novels (The Return of Reginald Perrin [1977] and The Better World of Reginald Perrin [1978]) were written by Nobbs with the express goal of being adapted into the second and third television series, respectively; Rossiter did not want to take the series forward unless it continued to be grounded in novels. The original three television series, all of the same name, were broadcast between 1976 and 1979; a fourth, The Legacy of Reginald Perrin, also written by Nobbs, followed in 1996.

The Funny Side of... - DVD releases - Netflix

The Funny Side of... - References - Netflix