Frontierswoman Sayward Luckett's struggles in Ohio during the late 18th-century and early 19th-century.

The Awakening Land - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 90 minutes

Premier: 1978-02-19

The Awakening Land - The Awakening Land trilogy - Netflix

The Awakening Land trilogy by Conrad Richter is a series of three novels that explore the lives of a white American frontier family in the Ohio Valley from the late 18th century to the middle of the 19th. The series consists of The Trees (1940), The Fields (1946), and The Town (1950); the third novel won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1951. These works established Richter as a major novelist of historical fiction. The Awakening Land trilogy was first issued in a single hardcover volume in September 1966, by Alfred A. Knopf. The trilogy was adapted as a United States TV miniseries by the same name, produced in 1978. The three novels were reissued in paperback in 1991 by Ohio University Press, and also in 2017 by Chicago Review Press.

The Awakening Land - Major themes - Netflix

The Awakening Land - References - Netflix