In an ambitious and fascinating series, David Dimbleby reveals the seven great ages of British culture, uncovering and exploring over a thousand years of extraordinary artistic achievement. Fresh, rich and full of vivid insights into the triumphs and tragedies of the national past, the stories unfold through an incredible collection of Treasures: From Shakespeare's plays to colonial architecture in India. Pre-independence through to 1st world war poster art are all covered in this fascinating new series.

Seven Ages of Britain - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2010-01-31

Seven Ages of Britain - The Seven Ages of Man (painting series) - Netflix

The Seven Ages of Man is a series of paintings by Robert Smirke, derived from a monologue from William Shakespeare's As You Like It, spoken as the melancholy Jaques in Act II Scene VII. The phrase begins as all the world's a stage. The stages referred are: infant, schoolboy, lover, soldier, justice, pantaloon and old age. Painted between 1798 and 1801, they depict the journey of life in its various forms. They were produced for the Boydell Shakespeare Gallery, and engravings by Peltro William Tomkins, John Ogborne, Robert Thew, Peter Simon the Younger and William Satchwell Leney based on Smirke's paintings were included in the gallery's folio edition of Shakespeare's work.

Seven Ages of Britain - The Justice - Netflix

In this stage he thinks he has acquired wisdom through the many experiences he has had in life, and is likely to impart it. He has reached a stage where he has gained prosperity and social status. He becomes vain and begins to enjoy the finer things of life and he attains a socially accepted state and expounds the wisdom he has gained in his life.

Seven Ages of Britain - References - Netflix