Rugby Sevens, also known as seven-a-side, Sevens or VIIs, is a variant of rugby union in which teams are made up of seven players, instead of the usual 15, with shorter matches. Rugby sevens is administered by World Rugby (WR), the body responsible for rugby union worldwide. The game originated in Melrose where the Melrose Sevens tournament is still played annually. The game is popular at all levels, with amateur and club tournaments generally held in the summer months. Sevens is one of the most well distributed forms of rugby, and is popular in parts of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, and especially in the South Pacific.

Notable international competitions include the HSBC Sevens World Series and the Rugby World Cup Sevens. Rugby sevens is also played at some multi-sport events such as the Commonwealth Games, taking place five times (1998: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; 2002: Manchester, England; 2006: Melbourne, Australia; 2010: Delhi, India; and 2014: Glasgow, Scotland), Until 2014 the gold medal had been won by New Zealand but in 2014 it was won by South Africa. Rugby sevens is now recognized as an Olympic sport and will make its debut in the 2016 Summer Olympics. This follows a vote by the executive board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to include the sport. That decision was backed at the 121st International Olympic Committee Session in Copenhagen on 9 October 2009.

Rugby Sevens - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 120 minutes

Premier: 2015-12-14

Rugby Sevens - Rugby World Cup Sevens - Netflix

The Rugby World Cup Sevens is the premier stand-alone international rugby sevens competition outside the Olympic Games. The event is contested every four years, with tournaments for men's and women's national teams co-hosted at the same venues. It is organised by World Rugby, the sport's governing body. The first tournament was held in 1993 in Scotland, the birthplace of rugby sevens. The winners of the men's tournament are awarded the Melrose Cup, named after the Scottish town of Melrose where the first rugby sevens game was played. The women's tournament was inaugurated at the 2009 Rugby World Cup Sevens held in Dubai. In men's Rugby World Cup Sevens, Fiji and New Zealand have each won the tournament twice. England and Wales have won a single tournament each, while Argentina, Australia and South Africa have reached tournament finals but not secured a title. For women's Rugby World Cup Sevens, Australia and New Zealand won the first and second tournaments respectively in 2009 and 2013. New Zealand are the current men's and women's world champions having won both tournaments in 2013. After it was confirmed that Olympic rugby sevens would be added to the Rio de Janeiro games, the International Rugby Board (now World Rugby) stated in 2013 that their intention was to end the World Cup Sevens. However, following two weeks of consultation, it was announced that the competition would be retained and integrated into the Olympic calendar, meaning that a meaningful elite level competition would take place every two years from 2016. The World Cup is, in common with other Olympic team sports, also markedly larger in terms of team numbers than the Olympic tournament. The first competition after Olympic integration is set to take place in 2018, which will entail a one-off five-year gap from the 2013 competition. The next Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament for both the Men and the Women will be held over three days from Friday 20 July 2018 until Sunday 22 July 2018 in AT&T Park, San Francisco in the United States however, unlike previous Rugby World Cup Sevens tournaments and the annual World Rugby Sevens Series events, in each of the genders, both competitions will be played in knock-out only formats.

Rugby Sevens - Results by nation - Netflix

Rugby Sevens - References - Netflix