"Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit" is a 3 part dramatisation of Jeanette Winterson's 1985 novel about a young girl who is adopted by evangelists.

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 55 minutes

Premier: 1990-01-10

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit - Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (TV serial) - Netflix

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit was a 1990 BBC television drama, directed by Beeban Kidron. Jeanette Winterson wrote the screenplay, adapting her semi-autobiographical first novel of the same name (published 1985). The BBC produced and screened three episodes, running to a total of 2 hours and 45 minutes. The series was released on DVD in 2005. The series won the BAFTA award for Best Drama.

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit - Cast - Netflix

Jess - Charlotte Coleman Small Jess - Emily Aston Jess's mother - Geraldine McEwan Pastor Finch - Kenneth Cranham William - Peter Gordon Cissy - Barbara Hicks Elsie - Margery Withers May - Elizabeth Spriggs Mrs Green - Freda Dowie Miss Jewsbury - Celia Imrie Jess's real mum - Sophie Thursfield Mrs Arkwright - Pam Ferris Mrs Virtue - Katy Murphy Mrs Vole - Sharon Bower Doctor - David Thewlis Gypsy - Kay Clayton Church Pianist - Tamar Swade Melanie - Cathryn Bradshaw Graham - Richard Henders Katy - Tania Rodrigues

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit - References - Netflix