Hailed as "groundbreaking", "powerful", and "totally authentic", Degrassi Junior High confronts it all — friendship, puberty, rumours, sports, studies, and more — with a refreshing ensemble cast and a unique teen's-eye-view of life. Sometimes moving, sometimes shocking, but always believable, Degrassi Junior High is a classic for teens of all ages.

Degrassi Junior High - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 1987-01-18

Degrassi Junior High - Degrassi: The Next Generation - Netflix

Degrassi: The Next Generation (later renamed Degrassi for seasons ten through fourteen) is a Canadian teen drama television series set in the Degrassi universe, which was created by Linda Schuyler and Kit Hood in 1979. It is the fourth series in the Degrassi franchise, following The Kids of Degrassi Street, Degrassi Junior High, and Degrassi High. Like its predecessors, the series follows an ensemble cast of students at the fictional Degrassi Community School who face various challenges often seen as taboo such as sex, teen pregnancy, bullying, date rape, drug abuse, body image, homosexuality, domestic violence, gang violence, self-injury, suicide, abortion, mental disorders, death, and many other issues. The series was initially created by Linda Schuyler and Yan Moore, and is produced by Epitome Pictures (a subsidiary of DHX Media) in association with Bell Media. The current executive producers are Schuyler, her husband Stephen Stohn and Brendon Yorke. The series is filmed at Epitome's studios in Toronto, Ontario, rather than on the real De Grassi Street from which the franchise takes its name. Degrassi: The Next Generation has been a critical success and has often received favourable reviews from Entertainment Weekly, The New York Times and AfterElton.com. In its initial years, it was frequently the most watched domestic drama series in Canada, and one of the highest-rated shows on TeenNick in the United States. In 2004, one episode received just under a million viewers in Canada, and over half a million viewers in the US. The series has won numerous awards, from the Geminis, Writers Guild of Canada and Directors Guild of Canada, and internationally from the Teen Choice Awards, Young Artist Awards, and Prix Jeunesse. The series premiered on CTV on October 14, 2001. During the ninth season in 2010, the series moved to MuchMusic. The tenth season marked a change in production style, which saw the series become a telenovela, a daily soap opera-style format, during the summer months, while the rest of the season aired during the standard fall-spring schedule on a weekly basis. The thirteenth season reverted to a weekly schedule and, part way through, moved to MTV Canada. The series has been syndicated on cable television, and episodes are available on DVD and in new media download formats from Puretracks, the iTunes Store, and the Xbox Live Marketplace. Internationally, Degrassi: The Next Generation has been highly successful in the US, where it was broadcast on TeenNick, as well as being broadcast in 140 other countries. The Next Generation aired its final episode on August 2, 2015, after MTV Canada and TeenNick announced the show's cancellation. However, in January 2016, a sequel series, titled Degrassi: Next Class, was announced for broadcast on Family Channel in Canada and streaming on Netflix in the United States as well as all other countries where the service is available (excluding Australia, France, and Canada until later 2016).

Degrassi Junior High - Awards - Netflix

Degrassi: The Next Generation has won over fifty awards, and has been nominated for many others. The Writers Guild of Canada has awarded its Canadian Screenwriting Awards to the writers of two episodes. In 2004, Aaron Martin, James Hurst and Shelley Scarrow won the “Best Youth Script Award” for “Pride”. The following year, the Scarrow-penned episode “Secret” vied with “Mercy Street”, written by James Hurst and Miklos Perlus for the “Best Youth Script Award”. “Mercy Street” won. The series has been nominated for fourteen Directors Guild of Canada Awards. In the “Outstanding Achievement in a Television Series – Children's” group category, the Bruce McDonald helmed “Mother and Child Reunion” (nominated 2002) and “When Doves Cry” (nominated 2003) were winners. “White Wedding”, also directed by McDonald, won the award in 2003 for “Outstanding Achievement in Direction – Television Series”. McDonald's “Holiday” (nominated 2004), and Stefan Scaini's “Time Stands Still, part 2” (nominated 2005) won the group categories for “Outstanding Achievement in a Television Series – Family”. “Can't Hardly Wait” and “Pass the Dutchie” were also nominated in that category in 2007 and 2008, respectively, but failed to win the awards. Stephen Withrow has picked up two awards in the “Outstanding Achievement in Picture Editing” category, for “Mother and Child Reunion” in 2002 and “When Doves Cry” in 2003. Degrassi: The Next Generation has won seventeen Gemini Awards since 2002, and has been nominated in twenty-six other categories. In 2010, producer Linda Schuyler received the Academy Achievement Award.

Degrassi: The Next Generation has also seen awards success internationally. It was nominated for a “Best Children's Television Programme” Prix Jeunesse in Germany in 2004, and has been nominated at the GLAAD Media Awards four times. In 2004, the show received a nomination in the Outstanding Drama Series category, but lost to the sports drama Playmakers. It was nominated in the same category again in 2008, but lost to Brothers & Sisters. In 2005, Degrassi: The Next Generation won the Television Critics Association Award for “Outstanding Achievement in Children's Programming.” It was only the second time that a non-United States series has won an award in this category (the first time was Degrassi Junior High in 1988). The Young Artist Awards has been recognising actors in the Degrassi franchise since 1987. Degrassi: The Next Generation was nominated for four awards in its first year. Ryan Cooley and Jake Goldsbie were nominated in the “Best Leading Young Actor Performance in a TV Comedy Series” category, but lost to Frankie Muniz from Malcolm in the Middle. The series won the award for “Best Ensemble in a Comedy or Drama TV Series” category. A year later, Jake Epstein won the Young Artist Award in the category for “Best Leading Young Actor Performance in a TV Comedy Series”. In 2005, Christina Schmidt tied with Alia Shawkat of Arrested Development to win the award for “Best Supporting Young Actress Performance in a TV Comedy Series”, and Jamie Johnston won the 2008 category for “Best Leading Young Actor Performance in a TV Series”. Young Artist Awards were awarded again in 2012, with both Cristine Prosperi and A.J. Saudin winning awards in the Lead Young Actress and Recurring Young Actor categories respectively. However, they both tied with another in their category. At the Teen Choice Awards, children aged between twelve and nineteen vote for each category's winner. The series has been nominated three times in the “Choice Summer TV Show” category, and has won twice, in 2005 and 2007. The episode “My Body Is a Cage”, where Adam's transgender secret is revealed, earned a Peabody Award, and a Creative Arts Emmy Award nomination in 2011.

Degrassi Junior High - References - Netflix