Aftershock tells the story of a devastating 1976 earthquake in Tangshan. A mother was forced to make a very difficult choice and was separated from her daughter. They reunite after 32 years, while always bearing the sorrow, guilt and anger etched into the moment of separation.

Aftershock - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: Chinese

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2013-05-03

Aftershock - Aftershock (2010 film) - Netflix

Aftershock is a 2010 Chinese disaster-drama film directed by Feng Xiaogang and produced by Huayi Brothers, starring Zhang Zifeng, Xu Fan, Zhang Jingchu, Chen Daoming, Lu Yi, Zhang Guoqiang and Li Chen. The film depicts the aftermath of the 1976 Tangshan earthquake. It was released in China on 22 July 2010, and is the first “big commercial film” IMAX film created outside the United States. The film was a major box office success, and has grossed more than US$100 million at the Chinese box office.

Aftershock - Reception and awards - Netflix

Aftershock won the Best Feature Film and Best Performance by Actor for Chen Daoming at the fourth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards. Raymond Zhou of China Daily placed the film on his list of the best ten Chinese films of 2010. The film currently holds a 90% rating on Rotten Tomatoes with an average score of 6.4/10, although there are not enough Western reviewers. The film won “Best Director” and “Best Actress” (for Xu Fan) at the 5th Huading Awards.

Aftershock - References - Netflix